top of page

YOUR CHAKRAS, EXPLAINED! Time to balance those chakras, but what are they?

We are sure you would have heard things like “third eye”, or intuition. If you have ever attended or researched about it you would have come across the term chakras. But it’s not just all woo-woo-voodoo! Although western scientific research is not in abundance, it’s said that the chakra system originated in India back between 1500 a

nd 500 BC in the oldest text called the Vedas (Sanskrit and Hinduism scriptures). In simple terms, that zingy feeling you get while putting a bindi or this energy you feel inside in certain situations. But what are they? And why are they important?


Chakras are spiritual energy centres, of which there are 7. They are placed from the top of our head down, along the spine. Chakra is like swirling wheels of energy where the physical and consciousness meet. This energy is called Prana, the vital life force, which is what keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive. Each chakra corresponds to massive nerve centres and major organs in the body. Each of the 7 main chakras also contains our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being.

There are 7 types of chakras:

1. Muladhara/ The root chakra

[mool=root, adhara= support]

This chakra, as per its name, relates to being grounded, our survival instincts, and basic needs. This chakra is our foundation and is all about feeling safe and secure. It’s connected with how we nourish ourselves (food + water), as well as our home, shelter and money, and on an emotional level feeling safe and letting go of fear. This is located in the base of our spine.

2. Svadhishthana/ The sacral chakra

[Swa = one’s own, Adhisthana abode or seat | aka one’s base]

The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen and represents the ability to connect with and accent people and new experiences.

3. Manipura/ The solar plexus

[Mani = gem, Pura = city | aka: lustrous gem

This chakra is your source of personal power, ruling over self-esteem. It controls our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. It’s also associated with fear, anxiety, and our sense of purpose. It governs all things metabolic, digestive, and stomach related.

4. Anahata/ The heart chakra

[unstruck or unhurt]

This chakra represents where the physical and spiritual meet. Although governs all organs of the chest, it’s also all about our ability love and the awakening to spiritual awareness. When your heart chakra is aligned and balanced, love and compassion flow freely in both giving and receiving.

5. Vishunddha/ The throat chakra

[purification or cleansing]

The throat chakra rules all areas of communication. Making sure that you’re speaking your inner feelings and truths and that they’re being properly communicated. It’s also about our ability to listen as well. Are we listening to others, but more importantly are we listening to ourselves?

6. Anja/ The third eye


The third-eye is your intuition. It’s your perception, imagination, memory, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions. It is also connecting your higher and lower self and intuitive clarity. It’s the link between you and the outside world allowing you to cut through illusions to see the clear picture.

7. Sahasrara/ The crown chakra

[thousand petaled]

The crown chakra is the meeting point between your physical body and individual consciousness meets a higher state of universal consciousness. This is what enables you to experience spiritual growth and feel connected to the universe. This chakra helps you move past your materialistic needs accessing the utmost clarity and enlightened wisdom.


Our chakras are in constant flux, it is important to identify this imbalance. It is important to activate these chakras, and pay attention to any imbalance. One can activate their chakras in many ways. Balancing the chakras has many benefits like:

· Improved overall health and wellbeing.

· Greater and faster ability to heal your mental, physical, spiritual and emotional issues.

· Increased openness, memory, concentration and awareness.

· Positive outlook in terms of understanding, perception of behaviours and thought process.

· Heightened creativity and better resourcefulness because of better perception.

· Sense of self-worth, self-esteem and self- confidence.

· Improved and deeper sleep, better control over your emotions and improved patience.

There are various ways to help balance your chakras. Essential oils and crystals can be very helpful in this process. Meditation is also a great way to understand the when and why of an imbalance.

‘La Soula’ is an ultimate symbol representing a fervour work of art. They craft the finest of jewellery of contemporary styles providing an extraordinary experience of luxury. Gold & Silver are precious metals & natural elements, the Whole essence of La Soula is incorporating Element of Earth and Soul. Do check out their beautiful collection of Chakra Jewelry here.

Sending good vibes to balance your mind, body & spirit.

52 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post